North Sulawesi

Situated south of the Philippines, North Sulawesi is Sulawesi’s most developed province. The capital of the province is the city of Manado, which has a population of just under half a million. The main tourist destination in North Sulawesi however, is Pulau Bunaken which has some of the best diving in the world where a huge array of marine life can be seen. Other interesting places of the area include the Tomohon region with it’s spectacular volcanic landscape and the Tangkoko Batuangas Dua Saundara Nature Reserve.

Central Sulawesi

Palu is the capital of Central Sulawesi. It is a main transport hub for the region. Ampana is a pleasant coastal town which is an access point for the stunning Togean Islands with their beautiful beaches and excellent diving and snorkelling. They are also home to the nomadic Bajau or “sea gypsies”.

Southeast Sulawesi

This is a rather remote region of Sulawesi for travellers but it does have some places worth visiting including including the Tukangbesi Islands, home to Wakatobi Marine National Park, one of the best diving and snorkelling locations in Indonesia.

South Sulawesi

South Sulawesi is the largest province on the island and also the most visited. Makassar, the capital has a population of well over a million and has good transport links with the rest of Indonesia.

Tana Toraja is a region very popular with travellers who come to see the fascinating way of life of the Toraja people and in particular, their elaborate funeral ceremonies. Their incredible houses are another draw card with their beautiful boat shaped roofs which are surrounded by paddy fields and terraces.

Back Nepal Home